Its been a successful SPOCO campaign for Eammon, finishing third in a strong MV50 category and eleventh overall. The result is testament to Eammons commitment and speed through the season. The only negative was a puncture on the final race, without which he would have been even further up the charts. Anyone who rides with Eamonn will know what happens when the turbo diesel kicks in, so hats off Mate.
Kieran Lacey also put in three races with Graham, Darren, Dave & Howie all racing one which meant LRC finished 14th team of 33, one place behind BCW.
Congratulations to Eammon and all the lads who raced this SPOCO season.

Border City 25 mile- May

Eamonn was flying the Lakes colours again at the Border City 25 mile SPOCO event on Saturday (30th May). The time trial was over two laps of the Calthwaite road circuit. Eamonn posted a time of 1-4-31 to take 3rd Vet 50 meaning that he`s  6th overall and 2nd vet 50 in the series, with only 2 races left.

Other local riders who competed were Derek Schofield (Rossendale RC)-1-4-49,Graeme Pitcher(BCW) -1-6-27 & Shaun Johnston (BCW) 1-7-36.A very well done to all local riders who competed on what was a windy course.

The SPOCO courses are usually run on B roads way from heavy traffic and although the courses are undulating they are interesting to ride. The courses range in length from 11 to 50 miles and are held across the north west.

Circuit of Wild Boar Fell -May

Eamonn rode a fantastic TT to place 9th out of the 34 starters and won his age category. Other local riders were Martyn Uttley, Derek Schofield and Graham Pitcher. Eamonn is upto 7th overall and could be higher after this event. Top work!

Results should be here

Torver GP -April

We were blessed with sunny conditions for the annual BCW organised SpoCo this year but as true cyclists we could moan about the headwind when returning up the west side of Coniston! The local cycle scene was well represented with 15 riders racing, 5 from The Lakes and 10 from Barrow Central. Dave Huck recorded the fastest time among us, with a 51:47 to finish in 4th place. The winner wads Harry King from Ilkely with a time of 49.22, and first on the timed Grizebeck hill climb. Well done to all who rode, an the ‘nutter’ award goes to Howie was riding it on a 74″ fixed wheel!

Some pics here.  Full results here 

Local Riders Results

Pos. Rider Club to-style2″>Time to-style2″>Hill Time to-style2″>Hill Pos.
4 Dave Huck Lakes RC to-style2″>0:51:47 to-style2″>8:38 to-style2″>3
7 Scott Smith BCW to-style2″>0:55:08 to-style2″>9:55 to-style2″>15
9 John O’Callaghan BCW to-style2″>0:55:22 to-style2″>9:30 to-style2″>6
11 Kieran Lacey Lakes RC to-style2″>0:56:05 to-style2″>09:37 to-style2″>9
12 Paul Lang BCW to-style2″>0:56:06 to-style2″>9:51 to-style2″>14
13 Sean Casson BCW to-style2″>0:56:25 to-style2″>10:15 to-style2″>20
14 Glenn Rhodes BCW to-style2″>0:56:41 to-style2″>9:58 to-style2″>16
18 Graham Carrick Lakes RC to-style2″>0:57:24 to-style2″>9:47 to-style2″>13
23 Eamonn Quinn Lakes RC to-style2″>0:58:27 to-style2″>10:41 to-style2″>27
27 Shaun Johnston BCW to-style2″>1:0:47 to-style2″>10:35 to-style2″>26
28 Adam McBirnie BCW to-style2″>1:0:56 to-style2″>10:53 to-style2″>28
29 Howard Lindow Lakes RC to-style2″>1:1:52 to-style2″>11:16 to-style2″>30
32 Paul McKenny BCW to-style2″>1:05:40 to-style2″>12:11 to-style2″>32
34 Joe Husband BCW to-style2″>1:10:50 to-style2″>13:39 to-style2″>34
35 Peter Metcalfe BCW to-style2″>1:11:22 to-style2″>13:57 to-style2″>35



Season So Far

Eamonn has been flying the flag for the club this year so far and has placed well in all four events he has rode so far at Longridge, Lazonby, Ingleborough and Pendle. These are some tough courses in tough conditions! He is upto 8th in the overall standings. Well done so far!

Results so far

Other local riders in the recent Border event at Lazonby event were as follows:

Position (L&L) Rider Time
17  (12) Shaun Johnston (BCW) 00:57:17
19  (14) Eamonn Quinn 00:58:00
23  (18) Martyn Uttley (BCW) 00:58:55
26  (20) Graham Pitcher (BCW) 01:01:48
31  (25) Tony Johnston (BCW) 01:10:46